Flourless Pumpkin Almond Bread

pumpkinbread1

This was from a recipe I posted on my facebook page. Its from caveman site, I will post the link up when I figure out where I left the URL. However its been modified to be pumpkin flavored. Unfortunately I don’t think you can do brachos over this. It contains no grain which was one of the requirement for the prayer. I also used a peanutbutter variation of this for thanksgiving for my stuffing base.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin paste aka canned pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp up to a 1/4 cup of maple syrup (optional I did 2 tbsp)
  • 5 “extra-large” eggs (run small but that’s what Trader Joes calls them)
  • 2 tsp of pumpkin pie seasoning
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Steps

  1. Break eggs and scramble in large metal bowl.
  2. Add in almond butter and mix evenly.
  3. Add in pumpkin paste, seasoning, lemon juice and mix.
  4. Add maple syrup until sweetened to desired sweetness.
  5. Mix in baking soda evenly and quickly.
  6. Add batter to a loaf pan.
  7. Heat oven at 350*F and add a drip pan underneath the bread to catch any overzealous rising bread pieces.
  8. Place the battered pan on top and cook for 60 minutes.
  9. Serve

pumpkinbread2
Texture of bread

Any suggestions, comments or critiques?

