Kiddush Luncheon Problems

I’ve been going to shul every Saturday morning for about 20 years or so. I have stopped recently but that is outside the scope of this topic. After the weekly 4 hour service, which was boring, there was a ton of a food at a luncheon type of deal called a kiddush. One thing that is consistent about every kiddush I have been to, is the food is stale and generally unhealthy. You would have these packaged cookies, a tiny amount of fruits, iceberg lettuce and some sugary dressing, cholent, lax, bagels and cake. Basically paleo death food. Also if there was really good food it would be eaten in a few minutes by congregants who swarmed on the food like a pack of piranhas.  I’d personally like to see foods based on Weston Price, which actually allows all of the food groups, but properly prepares them. Also restricting the use of white sugar (cane) and nuts would probably be better for long term health of the congregation. The downside of this type of diet fix is that it will probably cost a bit more (especially if they do baked goods), be more involved to make and more likely not to ever happen.  Also there tends to be a theme such as all dairy, meat or parve.

How would you propose getting healthier foods into a kiddush, that people would eat? Frugality and ease of preparation is a plus in this case.

3 thoughts on “Kiddush Luncheon Problems

  1. My college shul often had soup with meat and veggies. Sometimes lentils too, but it was still better. Because some of us had gluten issues, they made the soup at least occasionally with out the matzot. On holidays or certain shabbatot we had apples and honey. I still sometimes have fruit, and I saw doing so on shabbat as no issue.

    Other ideas: lox and cream cheese on nut thins (gluten-free cracker), veggies with fresh guacamole, fresh fruit, etc. Does the shul have a garden, or connections to one? In my experience Rabbis or the kitchen staff are open to these sorts of ideas. They want everyone involved.

    PS: Found you via Paleohacks, great site. I’ve been wanting to reconnect paleo lifestyle with my Judaism, and this is helpful.

    • I don’t think my shul does. But I will probably change my shul if I decide to get more serious about praying. Its been getting more reform as of lately and I tend to like it when its more strict. That’s a great sounding kiddush btw. An short fast could work too if that’s not an option.

  2. I am working my through your blog (some cool recipes I wanna try) and this post really made me laugh aloud! 😀
    OMG I guess all shuls are the same in some ways. They generally stick a few salads by the ladies but they make sure to drown them in dressing first!

Any suggestions, comments or critiques?

